Winegrowing region Primorska

Winegrowing region  Primorska (8081 ha) is situated in Western Slovenia and is subdivided into four districts

-          Vipavska dolina – 3005 ha

-          Slovenska Istra – 2331 ha

-          Goriška brda – 1992 ha

-          Kras – 753 ha.

Geography: The vineyards of Primorska stretch from the sea level to 360 m above sea-level.    

Soil: the subsoil is flysch and limestone dolomite, which lead to the evolution of the famous brown ground: terra rossa. Rigosol soil influenced by man is typical of traditional viticultural areas.

Climate and weather: the average annual rainfall is about 1460 mm, with hot summers   and very rare snowfall. 

Main varieties: Refošk (Refosco), Rebula (Ribolla gialla), Merlot, Malvazija (Malvasia), Chardonnay, Sauvignon (Sauvignon blanc, Cabernet Sauvignon and others.


Map ID Card History Varieties Speciality Legislation